Why write this blog?

Why write this blog?

Two Reasons:

FIRST…

I want to offer young women some insight into what it is like to be an engineer.  When I was a student I had no idea what engineers did.  I had some ideas that they designed bridges, worked with power lines and solved math problems and that was about it.  That didn’t sound very exciting to me.  It wasn’t until college (and maybe beyond) that I really developed an understanding of what engineers do and realized how exciting it could be.  Engineers create and improve the world around us.  They drive innovation and make a difference in peoples’ lives.  I want people (especially young people) to gain a better understanding of what engineering is.  I am an engineer and I do not sit around and do math problems all day!

SECOND…

I’ve been working as a professional for almost 15 years.  I’ve worked in three different industries with very different work environments.  I want to share my educational and work experiences with other engineers.  I also want to talk about topics such as career planning and professional development that may appeal to women in a variety of fields.

Leave a Reply

