From WIE: “I Create the World. I am an Engineer”

I love this poster; by the Women in Engineering (WIE) section of the IEEE: “I Create the World.  I am an Engineer”. From providing clean drinking water to inventing artificial organs that save lives to creating technologies that allow people to connect with others on the other side of the planet, engineers really do make a difference.

I attended an event this last weekend where we inspired young girls with our passion for engineering and technology.  Two college students shared with the girls why it was that they liked engineering.  One student said she wanted to help people.  Her interest was in developing technologies to provide clean drinking water to people who don’t currently have access to it.  She believes by finding a solution to this problem she can make a difference in other people’s lives.  The other student shared that he liked to solve puzzles, and engineering problems are often just puzzles.  Science and math are two of the tools that he uses to solve these puzzles. For him, the challenge of a new problem keeps him engaged and excited about his work.

I had a friend in high school who had a passion for music, but he decided to go into electrical engineering so he could design better sound equipment for bands. I was recently inspired by a high school girl who wants to pursue aeronautical engineering because she wants to be part of space travel.

For me, engineering is an opportunity to create something new. I like working with fellow engineers to come up with new ideas and innovations and to be constantly learning. Additionally I also like the challenge of a good puzzle!

Leave a Reply

